Sex Offender Registration Requirements
If convicted of a sex offense on or after June 18, 1992, or committed prior to June 18, 1992, if the person, as a result of the offense, is under the custody of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections on or after June 18, 1992. Also if convicted under the laws of another state, or military, territorial, foreign, tribal, or federal law which is equivalent to an offense equivalent to an offense in the state of Louisiana. The offender must register with State Police, the Sheriff’s Office and the local police department (see LA RS 15:541).
Information collected for the registry include
- Address of offender’s place of residence upon release from confinement
- Crime for which the offender was convicted and entire criminal history
- Date and place of conviction
- Name and any aliases used by the offender
- Social Security Number
- Other such information needed to carry out the purposes of the law
The offender must register within 3 business days of release from prison or within 3 business days of entering the state of Louisiana or changing his or her address. The requirement for registration lasts for 15 years, 25 years or, in the case of violent predators, the requirement is lifetime.